Coconut Honey Nut Balls

PB-White-Bowl-2

Illness abounded in our household last week culminating in a 2am dash to the emergency room at the local hospital. All is well though, Mr LG had an allergic reaction to some antibiotics, a shot of adrenaline and some medication to counteract the drugs and all was right as rain. Well that and a six hour wait as deemed necessary by the emergency doctor. I don’t know why the chairs in hospitals are so uncomfortable, but in my sleep deprived mind it felt like I was on a long distance flight seated in economy next to the toilet while hubby had been upgraded to business class where he got to sleep on a bed. Now the nurse assured me that hospital beds are not that comfortable, but I’m pretty sure she was looking at me as if I was a lunatic at that stage so really I can’t take her word for it can I?

Fortunately all the drama has settled down, but alas I am late posting my blog…..

With all the ill health we had experienced it felt like time to have something a wee bit healthier on the menu, but be warned, just because these sweets are full of healthy goodness, they are very “moreish” and they are about 70 calories each ball.

At various times through my life I have adopted a vegetarian and sometimes even a vegan lifestyle, but I confess it is hard not to succumb to the allure of buttery flaky pastry, the silky taste of chocolate and….well you get my drift. These days I am more a part time vegetarian; truly the best of both worlds.

I adapted this recipe from “The Ayurvedic Cookbook“. I have used my favourite fruit and nuts, but the best part of this recipe is that you can adapt it to your favourite flavours and if you want to make them truly vegan try changing the honey for maple syrup although I can tell you my vegan friends manage to overlook the fact that there is honey in them. These sweet treats require no cooking and best of all are really simple to make.

Recipe:

Gluten Free. Dairy Free. Vegetarian. No added Sugar.

Makes 20 balls.

  • 70gm sultanas
  • 100gm dates
  • 60gm almonds
  • 40gm desiccated coconut
  • 30gm sunflower seeds
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • extra coconut to coat balls.

Method:

Place sultanas, dates, almonds, coconut and sunflower seeds in a food processor and process for approx. one to two minutes until ingredients are well chopped.

Add honey and process until mixture has come together.

Use a tablespoon to measure mixture and roll into balls with your hands.

Roll balls in extra coconut and refrigerate for a minimum of 30 minutes or until the balls have firmed.

Leave a Reply

