Terry’s Chocolate Orange Cake

Recently, I was asked to make a cake based on a Terry’s Chocolate Orange. What do I know about Terry’s Chocolate Orange? Well, apart from that they taste good, what I remember most are the adverts with Dawn French furtively hiding a chocolate orange while muttering “mine not Terry’s”. Most people in Australia and the UK will know Dawn from the “Vicar of Dibley“. I’m not sure if she is well known elsewhere, but suffice to say she is very funny …. and she loves chocolate, need I say more? What’s not to love about Dawn?

As you can see, from the above photos, the Terry’s Chocolate Orange is actually in the shape of an orange and when you open it up it breaks nicely into orange shaped segments. The chocolate itself is flavoured with essence of orange. So, not surprisingly, I decided to make a chocolate cake with orange flavoured buttercream. For a more adult taste, I used Grand Marnier, an orange flavoured brandy liqueur. I also made a second, smaller cake, which was an orange cake with white chocolate buttercream and white chocolate ganache.

I covered both cakes with fondant and then put them together to make a two tiered cake. Finally, I used different coloured ribbons which reflected the yellows and oranges in the chocolate wrapper around the base of each tier.  I have finished off by making a gum paste flower for the top.

(Note: I only put the Terry’s Chocolate Orange on top of the cake for one photo just for fun.)

For the dark chocolate cake recipe see here.

To make Italian Buttercream see here.  For the dark chocolate cake I used one quantity of buttercream and added 40ml Grand Marnier. However, this is to personal taste, start small and you can always add more.

Oh by the way, I asked my friend if she liked Terry’s cake and she replied “not Terry’s ….mine”.

22 thoughts on “Terry’s Chocolate Orange Cake

  1. thehungrymum

    when I lived in England a billion years ago these were my very fav treats! They’re harder to come by in Australia but they’d be worthing finding to make this delish looking cake.

    Reply
  2. kandee2013

    OMG … I got a Terry’s Chocolate Orange EVERY year in my stocking at Christmas as a child … it was the HIGHLIGHT of my morning !! AND … as an adult (some would argue) … Grand Marnier is my Kryptonite !!! STOP !!! 🙂
    This post brings back such wonderful memories !!! THX for sharing !!!! 🙂

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I really like traditions like that, and what could be better to get a chocolate orange every year 🙂 Glad you liked the cake, I’m sure there will be more Grand Marnier inspired desserts featuring soon as it is one of my favourites too!

      Reply
  3. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, this cake is truly perfect, with fabulous combinations of flavor and color and buttercream – a dream really. I also know these “chocoalte oranges” that look like an orange but are made out of orange flavored chocolate. Chocolate and orange are wonderful together!
    Have a lovely Sunday!

    Reply
  4. foodfashionandflow (@FoodfashinFlow)

    This looks really delicious. I have not paired chocolate and orange, but it looks like an interesting mix of flavors. Reminds me of a candy I used to love as a kid. I once made a lemon cake with chocolate butter cream frosting and it was amazing, so I bet this is delicious on a whole new level.

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      We used to have lollies (candies) like that as well, chocolate on the inside with a crunchy layer of orange candy on the outside – yum! Your lemon and chocolate cakes sounds delicious!

      Reply
  5. David

    The Vicar of Dibley is a favorite here in the U.S., too, Like your friend (and Darn French), I would have said, “Mine, not Terry’s,” too if you had made this for me. Just gorgeous! The finished cake is truly work of love and art.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

