Cranberry and Lemon Shortbread

This recipe for cranberry and lemon shortbread was actually earmarked for my first ever blog, but other recipes kept pushing their way through squealing “pick me pick me”. It wasn’t until last weekend, when I was scraping up a rather failed attempt at doing something completely different and, as it turns out, completely wrong with a fortune cookie recipe, that I turned back to a recipe that is comforting and familiar. It is not often in the blogging world that I get to revisit recipes, there are just too many other exciting things to try and experiment with. I love this recipe, it is simple, the flavours marry beautifully together and even though there is sugar sprinkled on top they are not too sweet.

Tip: The key to making short bread is be really gentle with it, don’t over knead the dough and bake on a low temperature.

Recipe:

Adapted from “The Australian Women’s Weekly – Bake”.

Makes 18 biscuits.

  • 250gm butter, softened
  • 75gm caster sugar
  • zest from 2 lemons
  • 335gm plain (all purpose) flour
  • 35gm rice flour
  • 110gm dried cranberries, finely chopped
  • extra caster sugar to sprinkle on top.

Method:

Preheat oven to 150 C.

Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Beat butter, sugar and lemon zest together in electric mixer until light and creamy.

Add half the combined flours and mix by hand gently with a spatula.

Add remaining flour mix and the chopped dried cranberries. Mix by hand with a spatula until the mixture just comes together.

Knead gently on a floured bench until the mixture is combined.

Put shortbread mixture between two sheets of baking paper and roll out to approx 5mm thick.

Cut in desired shape and place on baking tray lined with baking paper. Sprinkle biscuits with caster sugar.

Bake @ 150°C for approx 35-40 min. Shortbread should be a pale straw colour when baked.

Let shortbread cool on tray for approx 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

27 thoughts on “Cranberry and Lemon Shortbread

  1. Susan

    Karen, I just found your blog by way of “Cocoa and Lavender.” It is really lovely! I love to cook, but baking is my passion and your photos are amazing! I love shortbread and these sound great.

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Mine too – shortbread are one of my favourite biscuits and I couldn’t help myself by tinkering with them a little bit – I was really pleased with the way the flavours came together.

      Reply
  2. saucygander

    These are saying “eat me” 🙂 fortune cookies are on my to-try list, but they look hard so I keep putting it off! Maybe I need to find a fortune that says “You will be successful at making fortune cookies”

    Reply
  3. David

    Karen – a.) I love shortbread! Even though I am part Scottish, the idea of adding lemon (and cranberries) doesn’t offend me at all! In fact, lemon-ginger shortbreads are a favorite. b.) I love your sugar canister! c.) Your photos are gorgeous! ~David

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Oooh I have never tried lemon and ginger shortbread that sounds fantastic I will have to try that! I was lucky enough to score the sugar canister in a sale for $2 – how is that for a bargain:)

      Reply
  4. laurasmess

    Yum! These sound so delicious… I am a huge fan of shortbread and the idea of additional lemon and cranberry sounds divine. Funny how some recipes just seem to shout ‘pick me!’ in terms of blogging material. Glad you finally put these up though, they’re definitely blog worthy!! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

