The hunt for an awesome chocolate cookie and a Poitou-Charentes donkey

I think I have said it before in this blog that I am one of life’s great procrastinators. Just the other day Mr LG was in fits of laughter when he came across a notebook where I had started my “Bucket List”.

Number one on the list was to visit the Poitou-Charentes region of France and see the Poitou Charentes’ donkeys ……don’t judge me people, they are very cute (and it’s my Bucket List)!

Anyway, number two on the list was to complete the bucket list. Hey, its a worthy goal and one that most people forget when they start their lists.

Number three…..well there was no number three, ok? According to Mr LG I am such a procrastinator I can’t even finish my bucket list (funny guy my husband!). Of course, what he didn’t take into account was that it may be a very small Bucket List. In which case, of course, I am still a procrastinator as I should have been to see those donkeys by now…..Oh well one day.

OK, the truth is I didn’t finish the list and there are loads of things that I want to add and tick off as I finish them.

Just one of many things on my, yet to be finished, Bucket List is to find the perfect chocolate cookie…

So what makes a perfect chocolate cookie? Does it contain copious amounts of dark or white chocolate chunks, is it chewy or hard, does it have nuts or fruit added or maybe a hint of spice? Whatever it is, I’m going to have fun experimenting.

Today’s offering is a chocolate and blueberry spice cookie. It has a hint of cinnamon and clove with just a little punch of ginger. The cookies are chewy and not too sweet.

It may not be the perfect cookie, but it is very tasty all the same.

Oh, and in case you are wondering, Mr LG approves of this addition to my Bucket List as on his list he has “Eat the perfect chocolate cookie”!

Chocolate and Blueberry Spice Cookies

Adapted from “Bourke Street Bakery The ultimate baking companion“.

Recipe

Makes 18

  • 225gm dark chocolate
  • 150gm plain all purpose flour
  • 40gm unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 100gm unsalted butter, softened
  • 240gm brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 70gm dried blueberries.

Method

Line baking trays with baking paper.

Chop up chocolate and place in a heat proof bowl. Bring a medium saucepan of water to the boil and then remove from heat. Place bowl of chocolate over the saucepan and stir occasionally until chocolate is completely melted.

Sift flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt, cloves, ginger and cinnamon into a bowl.

Place butter and sugar into the bowl of a stand mixer and using the whisk attachment whisk the butter and sugar together until pale and creamy. Make sure you scrape down the bowl with a spatula in between whisking.

Add eggs to the butter and sugar one at a time mixing well between each addition.

Add flour in three to four batches mixing well between each addition.

Add melted chocolate and mix well until fully combined.

Take the bowl off the mixer and fold in the dried blueberries with a spatula.

Refrigerate mixture for approx. 15 minutes or until firm.

Spoon two tablespoons of mixture and roll into a ball.

Place balls on prepared baking trays leaving space for the biscuits to spread. (NB they are large biscuits and will spread a lot)

Refrigerate trays of balls for 30 minutes.

Bake @ 165°C for 20 – 35 minutes or until risen and cracked on the top.

Tip: I have given a fairly big window for the cooking time, if you take the biscuits out at 20 minutes they will fall, but they are still chewy and tasty. If you leave them in longer they won’t fall as much, they will be crisp on the outside and are not quite as fudgy in the middle. Both versions got the thumbs up from the taste testers.

Leave biscuits to cool on the oven trays until completely cold.

Tip: If you can resist eating them all on the first day, the spice flavours will infuse and be better on day two and three.

31 thoughts on “The hunt for an awesome chocolate cookie and a Poitou-Charentes donkey

  1. bec {daisy and the fox}

    i think you can tick the perfect chocolate chip cookie off your bucket list – these look totally yummy! 🙂

    and i’m so with you on procrastination… it’s really become an art form in the tactics of avoidance 😛

    Reply
  2. laurasmess

    Yum! I adore chocolate cookies. I’ve never added blueberries before though… sounds like a great combination! Beautifully cracked outside, deep dark and chocolatey… I think you’ve cracked the Bucket-list-worthy recipe. Good luck with the donkey 😉 x

    Reply
  3. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, your cookies have such a wonderful color – deep, dark and chocolaty – just perfect with a cup of tea and, of course, I always love a bit of fresh spices in my cookies and cloves, ginger and cinnamon sound wonderful in combinataion with chocolate! The one ingredient that is hard to find around here is dried blueberries – I have only baked once with these sweet dried fruits and really liked the way they tasted in cookies – great recipe, Karen and wonderful photography!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I saw dried blueberries for the first time a couple of weeks ago in the supermarket and it has been in the back of my mind to find a use for them ever since. I am glad I did they were a great addition!

      Reply
  4. Jas@AbsolutelyJas

    Oh wow! Those donkeys are just gorgeous, and so shaggy! The cookies look lovely and decadent too, and well done on adding fruit – It makes them that bit less guilt-ridden 😀

    Reply
  5. David

    Bucket lists are fun. Chewy and spicy chocolate cookies are much more fun. The bucket list can wait… more chocolate cookie recipes cannot. 🙂 I would never have thought to add blueberries to a chocolate cookie! What a great idea…

    Reply
  6. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella

    Aww but it’s your bucket list and it can be as quirky as you want it. I adore donkeys and would love to own several donkeys and take care of them. I would of course want to call some of them donkey but that might lead to confusion.

    Reply
  7. saucygander

    Oh the donkeys are cute! I am still getting over my obsession with Scottish black faced sheep. Your cookies look wonderful, aren’t Bourke Street Bakery pastries addictive?

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Oh I loved the highland coos as well – must be something about shaggy animals 🙂 I haven’t actually tried anything from Bourke Street Bakery – Mr LG gave me the book a while ago as a present. When I get back to Sydney it is definitely on my list of places to visit!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

