Raspberry and Apple Crostata – Baking with Julia

When I first heard we were baking the crostata for our Baking with Julia challenge I was excited. I mean who doesn’t like a crostata, tart, flan or a pie… all names for the same thing. I had visions of ruby jewel coloured fruit encased in a beautiful pastry base and topped with a picture perfect lattice pattern and that my friends is exactly what I got.

As with most of the recipes in this book, I have tweaked and changed ingredients and techniques to come up with this little beauty. The pastry crust, according to the blurb above the recipe, is supposed to have a flavour reminisant of a linzer tart, I must admit I was slightly confused by that comment as the original recipe had sesame seeds added and to me that felt like this recipe was going on another flavour journey altogether.

I wanted to lean more towards the linzer with my crostata so In my version I have swapped the whole unblanched almonds to almond meal. I skipped the sesame seeds altogether, but increased my quantity of almond meal to compensate. I also increased the quantities of cinnamon and lemon zest then added ground cloves to give it a bit more flavour.

I made my pastry the day before and, when I took it out the next day, gave it a quick knead then rolled it out and it behaved perfectly.

It is winter in Australia so while the original recipe asked for fresh figs and raspberries there were none to be found in my local shops. It was probably just as well otherwise at this time of the year I would have had to re-mortgage my house to pay for them.. ok slight exaggeration, but you get the picture.

I decided to go with a variation of apples and frozen raspberries with the idea to make the filling more jam like so I increased the sugar quantity and then let it do it’s work to thicken the fruit. Once the fruit was thickened I sieved the mixture to remove the raspberry seeds and voila I had a smooth thick fruit filling. Just before baking, I added raw apple chunks to the filling for two reasons: one to give the crostata filling a bit more texture and two because I thought that there wasn’t enough filling. Either way it was a perfect addition.

Raspberry and Apple Crostata

Adapted from Baking with Julia – contributing baker Leslie Mackie.

Recipe

Makes 1 x 9″ tart.

Almond Dough

Can be made a day ahead.

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 100gm almond meal
  • 110gm caster sugar
  • 350gm all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 lemon – zest finely
  • 225gm cold butter – cubed.

Method

Whisk eggs and vanilla extract together until blended and set aside for later use.

Put almond meal, caster sugar, cinnamon, cloves, salt and lemon zest in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add butter and mix ingredients on a low speed until mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

Add egg mixture and mix only until the dough is uniformly moistened and forms curds (about 15 seconds).

Turn the mixture out onto a work bench and knead the dough gently a couple of times just to fully blend dough.

Gather the dough into a ball then cut the ball into two pieces one piece should be bigger as it will be used for the base of the tart. The other piece will be used for the lattice. Shape both pieces into discs, wrap individually in plastic wrap and refrigerate for  at least an hour or overnight.

Raspberry and Apple Filling

Can be made a day ahead.

  • 375gm (4 medium) apples, peeled, cored and chopped into pieces.
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 apple extra
  • 300gm frozen raspberries
  • 215gm sugar
  • 60gm brown sugar
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • egg wash (whisk together one egg yolk, a dash of milk or cream and a pinch ofaej#PEH!09
  • Demerara Sugar – to sprinkle on top of tart.

Method

In a medium sized saucepan place apples and water. Cook until apples start to soften. Add frozen raspberries and continue cooking until juices come out and fruit starts to break up.

Add both plain and brown sugar, lemon zest and lemon juice. Bring to the boil stirring constantly until sugars have dissolved completely.

Reduce heat and simmer apple and raspberries until mixture thickens, stirring occasionally. Make sure you keep an eye on mixture as the raspberries will catch and burn.

Once mixture is thick take off the stove and pour mixture through a sieve into a heat proof bowl to remove raspberry seeds. Return mixture to saucepan and return to heat, bring to boil then add the butter, stir until it melts. At this stage the fruit needs to be a thick jam like consistency.  Remove from heat and pour back into a heat proof bowl

Allow mixture to cool, then place in refrigerator to cool completely.

Assembly

Spray a 9″ fluted flan tin (removable bottom) with oil.

On a lightly floured bench, roll out the large piece of pastry into a circle bigger than the flan tin approx. 11″.

Carefully place the pastry into the flan tin being careful not to break the pastry on the sides of the flan tin. Gently press the pastry so that the bottom and sides fill the tin. With a knife trim the edges of the pastry to the height of the tin. Keep any left over pieces for the top lattice work.

Peel, core and cut the remaining apple into chunks. Mix apple pieces into the cold raspberry and apple mixture.

Pour the cold raspberry and apple mix into the pastry base and spread evenly.

Knead together the left over pieces with the remaining piece of pastry then roll out into a circle shape.

Cut even sized strips with a serrated pastry cutter.

Form the lattice pattern by weaving the pastry pieces over and under each other. Trim the lattice strips to the edge of the crostata. Gently press the edges of the lattice to the edge of the crostata. You can use egg wash to stick the lattice to the edge if you need to.

Cover and refrigerate crostata for 30 minutes.

Remove from fridge and egg wash the top of each of the lattice strips. Sprinkle lattice with demerara sugar.

Place the crostata on a baking tray.

Bake at 180°C for 45-50 minutes. Keep an eye on the top of crostata. Towards the end of the baking time you may need to cover the edges with tin foil to avoid burning.

Remove from oven, and leave to cool. Once cool remove from flan tin.

 

37 thoughts on “Raspberry and Apple Crostata – Baking with Julia

  1. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, Linzer Torte (as we call this wonderful and very famous Austrian teatime treat) happens to be one of our favorite cakes – I love the taste of almonds and the spices in the dough and it all harmonizes so well with raspberry fillings – your version sounds fabulous and it looks utterly professional! Quite impressive!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Thanks Andrea, this was actually my first attempt at doing a lattice top so I was very happy with the result. I was lucky enough to work briefly with an Austrian pastry chef and he made linzer torte all the time – it was absolutely divine! His recipe was different from this one and he actually piped the lattice on the top which was an interesting technique.

      Reply
  2. David

    Karen – I think it is amazing and wonderful that both you and Paula ended up with apples and raspberries! While I love figs, I think the version you came up with is much better. And I love what you did with your crust, as I am a big Linzertorte fan. Really beautiful! And your cut piece? Sheer perfection!

    Reply
  3. Cathy B.

    Your lattice is perfect. I found this dough to be very soft and difficult to work with. It’s summer here, so the house is warm. I wonder if it was that, or the sesame seeds. Either way, apple-raspberry does sound really good. Something to keep in mind for later in the year.

    Reply
  4. saucygander

    Jealous of your lattice! It looks much more professional than what I achieved. I also refused to sell my kidneys or give up my morning coffee for fresh figs. It sounds like your apple and raspberries filling worked perfectly.

    Reply
  5. Jas@AbsolutelyJas

    I’m with Lorraine. That’s some beautiful weaving you’ve achieved on that crostata top – so uniform and with great colour. I’d still cut into it to eat it though, it just looks to good not to!

    Reply
  6. James

    WOW! That really does look good enough to eat. I know, funny guy, but it really does look great. I love pie with melting ice cream

    Reply

Leave a Reply

