Two Birthdays and some cake!

Wow it’s a busy period for me at the moment as I am in the middle of renovations at the Lemon Grove Cake Cottage (as I have now taken to calling my house 🙂 ). I am turning one of my rooms into a permanent work room for my cake business. It feels like I am being invaded by a small army of builders, plumbers and electricians!  But no worries, it will be great when it is finished and I can’t wait. At the same time, I have been working on a number of cake designs that incorporate sugar art figurines. I thought I would share some of these with you in lieu of a recipe which I didn’t get a chance to do due to all the renovations.

I designed the highlander above for Mr LG’s birthday, which was actually a couple of months ago, but better late than never right?  I like to add a touch of whimsy to my designs so you will notice the mythical and very elusive haggis ‘keeking’ around the side (apparently keeking is the Scottish version of peeking – who knew?).

Continuing with the Scottish theme, I made this next cake for the “Divine Miss C” who is celebrating her birthday this week.

So here is a special birthday shout out to the Divine Miss C: “Wish we could be there to celebrate your birthday in person, but since we can’t here is a virtual cake I designed especially for you! As you will have noticed, with your keen eye for detail, I have made the skirt from your ancient family tartan (if I got it wrong blame it on the internet).

31 thoughts on “Two Birthdays and some cake!

  1. Tiffany

    WOW WOW WOW, these look so amazing! I wish I lived closer to you, I would order all my cakes from you just to see your creations. You are so talented!

    Reply
  2. kandee2013

    WOW … the “Cake Boss” has NOTHING on you !! Fantastic work … and, being of Scottish descent, I wish MY wedding cake looked like the one at the top. This little guy looks just like me on my wedding day !! Stay hungry !! 🙂

    Reply
  3. steph (whisk/spoon)

    oh my gosh–I just looked at your company site. your figurines and flowers are super-gorgeous! I took a bunch of courses at planet cake when we lived in Sydney, but my fingers never got so good at it.

    Reply
  4. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, well, no words…I am speechless when I look at these amazing creations of yours!!! What an eye for detail and what artistry, talent and craftswomanship! Your family (and clients) are very lucky indeed!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Thanks Laura, Renovations ahhhhh, actually in my mind I know they are going well but it is taking longer than hoped so I have to resign myself to living in a complete mess for a couple of weeks. At least it is not in my kitchen so I can always console myself with cake!

      Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I did, it was ok but not great. To be fair the people I was travelling with said that it wasn’t the best example of a haggis so I would definitely try it again if the opportunity came up.

      Reply
  5. David

    OMG – Karen, these are amazing, and I am. Sure they taste as good as they look! You are an amazing artist – and with a wonderful wit, too!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Thanks Lorraine, I made a figurine of a Scotsman for Mr LG’s birthday last year, it was the first time I had ever tried my hand at it. In truth it kind of looked like Mr Blobby in a kilt but I was very proud of it at the time. I still have the original and it just cracks me up when I look at my first attempts. There has been a lot of fun, frustration and fondant tantrums in between to get to this stage 🙂

      Reply
  6. Gather and Graze

    They’re amazing Karen! You really are very talented. Love the detail in the clothing and faces – very clever. I’ll be coming to do a class with you, when you start teaching!

    Reply
  7. Jas@AbsolutelyJas

    Oh Karen! They are exquisite! So detailed and incredibly perfect (and I LOVE that gorgeous little haggis). Adorable 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

