Orange Cake

Margot's Orange Cake

“The Lemon Grove Cake Company” is now on Facebook – yippee!! Yes, after years of resisting Facebook, I have signed up at last. My Facebook page will incorporate both my cake business and this blog and any extra projects I am working on that don’t make it onto the blog. If you would like to “like” me on Facebook, well I would like that very much 🙂

Now back to the cake diaries…. A month or so ago one of my blogging friends, Margot, posted this beautiful orange cake on her blog “Gather and Graze“. As soon as I saw it I wanted to make this very tasty treat. This cake is perfect for a casual afternoon tea and it teams up beautifully with some Chantilly Cream. It is at it’s best if eaten the day it’s made, which, trust me, is not a hardship! I can also confirm that my builders gave this a big thumbs up 🙂

I have only adapted this recipe slightly by using caster sugar instead of raw sugar and plain yoghurt instead of Greek yoghurt.

Recipe

Orange Cake

Adapted from Gather and Graze.

  • 250gm Unsalted Butter
  • 220gm Caster Sugar
  • Zest of 2 oranges
  • 3 eggs
  • 300gm Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 180gm Plain Yoghurt
  • 80ml Orange Juice
  • Icing Sugar to dust.

Heat oven to 180°C. Spray a 22cm round cake tin with vegetable oil and line the bottom and sides with baking paper.

Cream together butter, sugar and orange zest until pale and creamy.

Add eggs one at a time, mixing to combine.

In a separate bowl sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.

In a small bowl, whisk together the yoghurt and orange juice.

In three batches, alternate adding the flour and liquids to the butter and sugar and stir until fully combined.

Use a spatula to scrape cake mix into prepared cake tin. Bake @ 180°C for approx. 45 minutes.

Allow cake to cool, then dust generously with icing sugar and serve.

Best eaten the day it is made.

Margot's Orange Cake

30 thoughts on “Orange Cake

    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Hi Monica, thanks for commenting. This is a really nice cake and is well worth making. If you google “grams to ounces” it comes up with a great conversion calculator where you can type in the amount in grams and it will give you the ounces equivalent. Hope that helps

      Reply
  1. Jas@AbsolutelyJas

    That cake looks like it has beautiful texture, and I adore citrus cakes to boot! Your builders must think you are fantastic!!!

    Reply
  2. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, this is one beautiful cake! I love moist cakes and this Orange Cake looks like the perfect afternoon treat for us – I have to try this recipe and maybe pair it with some lovely homemade vanilla custard sauce…The cake look so perfectly risen and has such a fabulous crumb, I would absolutely love to have a slice right now with my morning cup of coffee!
    Fabulous recipe, dear Karen!
    I shall hop over to your facebook page and take a look and “like”!
    P.S.: The spoon you asked about – I found it at an antique store in Maastricht, The Netherlands three weeks ago – it is an old “sugar measuring spoon”.

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Andrea this cake would be perfect with homemade vanilla custard sauce, I will have to try that next time I make it. That spoon was really cool, I am a big fan of antiques and history. I love how it has such a specific use “sugar measuring spoon”.

      Reply
  3. laurasmess

    I love any type of dense, moist citrus cake. This one looks perfect, particularly with the addition of the yoghurt. I will take a look and find you on facebook. Yay for technology, I love networking! x

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I did try it with sour cream as well, equally good but a little bit more dense – very tasty! I am a late comer to the facebook party so I am still getting the hang of it – we are having disagreements but hopefully facebook and I will become friends 🙂

      Reply
  4. David

    Gorgeous, Karen! Sadly, a day late. Was looking for the perfect orange cake for a dinner yesterday. Oh well, will just have to make this for myself! Its simplicity is its beauty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

