White Chocolate and Cranberry Scones

White Chocolate and Cranberry Scones

I don’t know if it’s just me but it feels like Christmas hits the shops earlier and earlier every year. I’m not sure why but it caught me completely by surprise when I saw decorations for sale in the shops before Halloween merchandise had even been taken down. Now, I actually love everything about Christmas, it must be my inner child that loves the sparkly lights, glitter, decorating trees and music (even my husband’s Bob Dylan Christmas CD!). I have even been known to subject my work colleagues with a constant barrage of Christmas music leading up to the big day. So I guess it should come as no surprise that food features highly in my thoughts as we head rapidly into the holiday season. I’m making an early start to the festive season with a little pre-Christmas treat of white chocolate and cranberry scones.

I have a bit of a love / hate relationship with scones most likely due to the thousands of scones I had to make at the hotel for high tea. Anytime I got an early shift my first job was to make the scones. It wasn’t so bad during the week but weekends were definitely the worst where we would have to make batches of scones with anywhere from 15 – 40kgs of flour. That was a lot of scone cutting and trust me when I say that there is no leisurely, take your time scone making in a commercial kitchen, it is just hurry, hurry, hurry….haven’t you finished those yet???

When I first learnt to make scones mine were always rustic looking and to be honest I kind of like that. At the hotel we had to make them of uniform size perfectly rounded and not too big, perfect little scones to go on a 3 tier cake plate filled with yummy deliciousness. Should you want to make the seemingly “perfect” scone good enough to grace the table of any high tea here are two trade secrets: 1. use a piece of clean, sterilised PVC pipe instead of a metal cutter, this rounds the top of the scone as you press down (make sure you rub the PVC pipe in flour between each cut), 2. rest your scones for at least 30 minutes, longer is better if you have the time.

Oh and just in case you are wondering how the renovations are going, we are up to painting…..even the dog has left his mark on the house……grrrrrr….you know you really love your dog when you find paint paw prints through the house and you find it funny 🙂

Bad Dog!

White Chocolate and Cranberry Scones

Recipe

White Chocolate and Cranberry Scones

Makes 20 scones.

  • 400gm Self Raising Flour
  • 50gm Caster Sugar
  • 50gm Butter, cubed
  • 100ml Pure Cream
  • 100ml Buttermilk
  • 2 Eggs, whisked lightly
  • 70gm Dried Cranberries
  • 70gm White Chocolate.

Place the eggs, cream and buttermilk in a jug.

Place the self raising flour, caster sugar and butter in the bowl of a stand mixer. Mix on a low speed until mixture resembles fine bread crumbs.

Add all of the egg mixture to the flour mixture and mix on a medium speed for a short time until mixture just starts coming together.

Scrape mixture out onto a floured work surface. Knead gently until just combined, you may need to add some extra flour if mixture is too wet.

Add cranberries and white chocolate and knead gently until fully combined.

Use a rolling pin and roll dough to approx. 5cm in height.

Use a circle cutter (or PVC pipe) to make scones, place on a oven tray lined with baking paper.

Brush with egg wash mixture.

Rest for at least 30 minutes.

Bake at 180°C for 10 minutes, turn tray and bake for a further 6 minutes or until scones are a golden brown on top and bottom.

Crank up your pre-Christmas music and enjoy with a cuppa!

White Chocolate and Cranberry Scones

22 thoughts on “White Chocolate and Cranberry Scones

  1. Jas@AbsolutelyJas

    Love the cheeky paw prints, I’d be giggling at them too! I adore christmas and am excited to be spending christmas at my own house for the first time ever! Your scones are gorgeous, and I’ll grab some PVC next time that I’m at Bunnings 🙂

    Reply
  2. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, scones must be really delicious otherwise I have a tendency not to make them that much – but I loved looking at yours, the recipe sounds wonderful and buttery and delicious and I really liked the tip about the PVC pipe – a “must try “for me. I think I will never be able to look at another PVC pipe again without thinking of your lovely scone recipe in the future – now, a little beginner´s question: do you just flour the piece of piping, nothing else?
    Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe – all the very best for the renovations!
    Andrea

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Hi Andrea, I flour the work surface, if the scone dough is a bit sticky I will lightly dust flour over the dough and knead lightly. I usually just have a dish with some flour in it that I dip my PVC pipe into between cutting. The trick with scones is not to over knead the dough. The dough should be a soft pillowy consistency. Hope that helps – good luck!

      Reply
  3. gotasté

    Karen, you won’t believe how much I am craving for these scones after eating one whole month of Chinese food over here in Hong Kong. And you know my diet. I have always preferred Italian and western food. It is hard to get authentic ones over here. These scones are just too lovely. No need for butter or jam. Just heat it up and its a great breakfast to go with a strong coffee. Yuuummm!…..danny

    Reply
  4. Tiffany

    Your scones look so soft and fluffy and sound delicious! Scones can be dry, but yours look like they’d be buttery and flaky, yum. I love Christmas too and am looking forward to all the holiday food. I think it’s adorable your dog left his paw prints–hope the paint wasn’t hard to get off, though!

    Reply
  5. David

    Karen – your scones are beautiful! Mine are definitely of the rustic variety you mention. I just made some (blueberry) on Monday, and they don’t even begin to resemble yours! Mine comes form my Cornish grandmother… not nearly as elegant as yours!

    Reply
  6. Gather and Graze

    Lovely post Karen! The scones look fantastic and very Christmassy indeed – the photos have me sitting here at 10pm wishing I could munch on a scone… perhaps tomorrow! I’ll be out at Bunnings first thing in the morning to buy a section of PVC piping – always happy for tips on scone-making. 🙂 Great to hear that your reno is almost finished – must be very exciting for you!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Just the electrician to go. I am at the stage of putting everything in it’s proper place and contemplating if it is too early to put the Christmas tree up or should it go back into storage of a couple more weeks 🙂

      Reply
  7. saucygander

    Haha, I guess it’s the dog’s home too? Yum looking scones, I don’t think I’ll ever have the patience to make hotel-perfect ones, guess that’s the difference between me and professional bakers! 🙂

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Yes it definitely is, he has made is mark walking against freshly painted walls and over the new floor while they were laying it – he was lucky he didn’t get stuck to the glue they were using 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

