White Chocolate and Lemon Curd Cupcakes

White Chocolate and Lemon Curd Cupcakes

Cupcakes are one of my “go to” recipes when I need to come up with a bit of baking in a hurry. Which is exactly the position I was in on Saturday. I was short on time with friends arriving for lunch imminently and here I was still painting trim and assembling furniture (oh how I love the Norse God of flat pack furniture “Ikea”).

The great thing about cupcakes is that they are quick and easy to make and, even better, they don’t take long to bake. For this recipe, I have used a standard vanilla cupcake and jazzed it up a bit with lemon curd and white chocolate.

My taste testers were mixed on their reactions to the amount of lemon curd used. Some loved it just as it was, while others wanted more lemon curd. I do have to say this is a personal preference, so it is up to you how big a hole you make in each cupcake to fill with lemon curd. I only made my holes about 2cm wide so it took two bites of cupcake to reach the curd.

I decorated my cup cakes with some very cute whimsical fairies that I found in my local “Spotlight” store. They were just too cute to pass up and, of course, the up side was that they very quickly added a bit of pizazz without too much time and effort.

White Chocolate & Lemon Curd Cupcakes

Recipe

White Chocolate and Lemon Curd Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes

Recipe for vanilla cupcake adapted from Planet Cake.

Makes 12 cupcakes (I find I actually get 14 out of this quantity).

  • 175gm unsalted butter
  • 160gm caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • zest from one lemon
  • 2 eggs
  • 160gm self raising flour
  • 100gm plain flour
  • 200ml milk
  • lemon curd (you can make your own, but I purchased a bottle for this recipe).

White Chocolate Icing

  • 240gm icing sugar, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon butter
  • 100gm white chocolate, melted
  • milk.

Method

Preheat oven to 180°C. Line cupcake tins with paper cases.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat together butter, sugar, vanilla extract and lemon zest until light and creamy.

Add eggs one at a time beating well between additions.

In a separate bowl, sift together self raising and plain flour.

Fold a third of the flour into the butter mix and mix until just combined. Add a third of the milk and mix until just combined. Repeat twice.

Tip: I find the easiest way to fill cupcake cases quickly and cleanly is to put the mixture in a disposable piping bag, snip off the end and pipe mixture into cases.

Bake @ 180°C for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when testing the cupcake.

Cool for 5-10 minutes then place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Make the icing by placing the sifted icing sugar, butter and melted white chocolate in a bowl of a stand mixer and mix on a low speed. As mixture comes together into breadcrumb like consistency increase speed. Add milk, as required, to bring icing to a thick glossy consistency – the icing needs to be thick, but spreadable and not runny.

Assembly

Once cupcakes are cold, use a sharp knife to hollow out a core in the middle of cupcake, but don’t cut right to the bottom (I cut out approx. a 2cm hole). Cut off the top of the core to use as a plug. Put some lemon curd in a small disposable piping bag and pipe into the whole leaving enough room to place the plug on top.

Spread icing on top of cupcake with a knife.

White Chocolate & Lemon Curd Cupcakes

20 thoughts on “White Chocolate and Lemon Curd Cupcakes

  1. Tiffany

    Super cute cupcakes! I like making cupcakes for events because you can make a lot and they’re always a crowd-pleaser. I like the idea of filling these with lemon curd, which is nice surprise. I’d probably like a good amount of lemon curd.

    Reply
  2. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, my girls would go nuts over these absolutely cute cupcake wrappers and the toppers – so elegant and so pretty! Plus the recipe sounds awesome, I love lemon curd too and the combination with white chocolate sounds pretty amazing!
    Another very very lovely blog post!

    Reply
  3. David

    Gorgeous! I have very similar baking cups and I bought them because I never make cupcakes – and I thought the nice cups would get me going. They didn’t – I think what I needed was this recipe to actually get me to make them! I love white chocolate and I think I would be in the “more lemon curd” camp.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

