Homemade Lemonade

Lemonade1

Last week we suffered through several hot humid days. With impeccable timing the air conditioning on both cars decided to give up the ghost. With a cake delivery pending, the timing couldn’t have been worse. It would be an understatement to say that fondant and humidity are not friends, one could almost say they are mortal enemies. Yet here I was on Saturday trying to deliver a cake an hour away from where I lived in a car with no air conditioning to a restaurant which I found out on arrival also had no air conditioning! The patron saint of cake (St Honore) was not smiling on me. I was doomed or more to the point I couldn’t help but believe my cake was doomed.  By the time I arrived at the restaurant I was really beginning to sweat (no pun intended). I had no choice but to have them put the cake in the fridge, which could have made the fondant sweat, potentially creating a very unattractive puddle when it came out!  To make matters worse I was actually invited to this dinner so I had to sit there stressing about how the cake would look when it was finally presented.

Several wines later, when I was feeling slightly less pain, the waitress brought the cake to the table. By this time St Honore had taken pity on me and the cake had hardened up and hadn’t collapsed into a heap of melted buttercream and ganache (yes, my mind was working overtime on worst case scenario). To be honest I was kind of embarrassed, I really really just wanted the cake cut and the evidence eaten and cleared away as quickly as possible. Luckily for me my fellow diners were more gracious and much less critical about the cake and best of all; the birthday boy loved it…phew!! (My husband says I am too much of a perfectionist and the only person who noticed any problem with the cake was me!).

Earlier that day when I was feeling slightly more optimistic about how the day was going to pan out I had made lemonade from a pile of left over lemons. I had never made home made lemonade before but had grown up on tv programs of wholesome kids selling lemonade from home made stands convinced they were going to make their fortunes. Well I may not make my fortune from this lemonade but it was tart, refreshing and best of all super easy to make and just perfect for a hot humid Queensland day!

Recipe

Homemade Lemonade

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup lemon juice, poured through a sieve to remove seeds.
  • 3 additional cups water.

Method

Make a syrup by pouring 1 cup of water and 1 cup of sugar in to a small saucepan. Over a medium heat stir sugar and water until the sugar has dissolved, simmer for 5 minutes then remove from heat.

Add lemon juice and stir to combine.

Add 3 cups of water. Stir. Adjust to taste by adding more water if required.

Place in fridge until cold and serve over ice.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Lemonade

  1. TheKitchenLioness

    Dear Karen I am very glad that all turned out well in the end – I know that you put your heart and soul in all your creations and I am sure that the cake was another one of your marvelous themed cakes that I so admire.
    Lemonade sounds wonderful no matter what the season and your pictures are fabulous – the whole post looks like lovely, fresh Lemonade!

    Reply
  2. David

    There is nothing as nice as homemade lemonade on a hot, sultry day…

    Oh, I can really feel your anguish over the cake. What a mess if could have been – and I am glad that, in the end, all was fine…

    Reply
  3. Gather and Graze

    Karen, I’m so pleased that your cake made it through, to be enjoyed by your friends – I can imagine how devastating it would have been if it had collapsed, after all that hard work!
    Looking forward to some beautiful summer weather to juice some lemons and try out your lemonade recipe! I imagine it could take a dash of gin or vodka quite well too?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

