Christmas Spice Biscuits

Christmas Spiced Biscuits

Growing up it was never a big tradition in my household to bake non stop in the lead up to Christmas. Of course, mum would make her annual Christmas fruit cake months before the big day, but other than that she wasn’t much for making biscuits or other tasty treats. Don’t get me wrong on Christmas day my mother always went completely overboard and the table would positively groan with the amount and variation of desserts she would lay out (trifle being a real star of the show).

However, since I have found my love of baking (and it’s no secret that I love Christmas), I am embracing the baking fervour that has started in the blogging world and I’m adding to it with my version of a Christmas spiced biscuit.

This biscuit was inspired by Andrea at The Kitchen Lioness who has been blogging about the most beautiful European Christmas treats, but it was her gingerbread biscotti that caught my eye. More specifically her gingerbread spice mix that went into the biscotti. As soon as I read the ingredient list my over active imagination was coming up with recipes that I could use it in.

While these biscuits were baking the most wonderful aroma of all the spices wafted through the house. It was hard to distinguish between them all: cinnamon, nutmeg, star anise; it was all there teasing and tempting us. It called for some Christmas music, so with “Let it Snow” playing in the background I pulled the biscuits out of the oven. Of course, the temptation was too much to wait for these biscuits to cool; we ate a couple warm from the oven – Yum! If you can wait, these biscuits are even better iced and eaten the next day once all the spices have infused.

I have always loved the idea of edible Christmas decorations, but the realities of living in sub tropical Queensland means that it just isn’t going to happen. Still I went with the inspiration and gave these away as Christmas gifts.

Christmas Spiced Biscuits

Recipe

Christmas Spice Biscuits

Biscuits adapted from Biscuiteers Book of Iced Biscuits (Treacle spice biscuits), Gingerbread spice mix from Andrea at The Kitchen Lioness.

Makes 17 x 6cm round biscuits

Ingredients

  • 200gm plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons gingerbread spice mix
  • 50gm dark brown sugar
  • 100gm salted butter, cubed
  • 50gm golden syrup.

Method

Place the flour, baking powder, spice mix and brown sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer and mix well.

Add butter and mix on a low speed until mixture resembles fine bread crumbs.

Add golden syrup and mix.

The mixture won’t fully come together, scrape out mixture onto the bench and press together.

Wrap in cling wrap and place in the fridge until ready to use (I made my mixture the night before).

Bring dough back to room temperature when you are ready to use it and roll out between two sheets of baking paper to approx. 3-5mm thick. Use your favourite Christmas shaped cutters to cut dough. Use a piping nozzle to put a hole in the top of the biscuit then place biscuits on a tray lined with baking paper. The scraps of dough can be gathered together and re rolled and cut into biscuits until all the dough is used.

Place the trays of biscuits in the fridge to chill (at least an hour).

Preheat oven to 170°C and bake for 15-18 minutes.

Remove from heat, allow biscuits to cool for 5 minutes before placing on a wire rack to cool completely.

Icing

Use a piping bag and a number 2 nozzle to pipe the outside lines of the biscuits with royal icing. I have used a store bought variety of icing. Use a thicker consistency to pipe the outside lines, I follow the direction on the packet and find that is thick enough to hold it’s shape (keep some icing aside for the words on top).

Add some red gel colour to the icing and mix, add more gel until you reach the desired colour. Add a small amount of water and mix together to get a thick but pouring consistency. Once again start with a small amount and then add more water if you need it – if you go too thin it will run off the biscuit.

I use a squeeze bottle with a screw on nozzle (as recommended in the Biscuiteers book) to squeeze the pouring icing onto the biscuit.

Wait for the icing to dry a little then pipe words on top of the biscuit.

Place all the biscuits back on a baking tray lined with paper and place back in the oven @ 120°C for 30 minutes to allow the biscuits to dry off.

Remove from oven.

Place on wire racks and allow biscuits to cool completely.

Thread ribbon through the hole and tie in a knot at the top.

Christmas Spiced Biscuits

19 thoughts on “Christmas Spice Biscuits

  1. Tiffany

    How adorable! I really like how you decorated these. I didn’t grow up baking a lot for Christmas either, but now that I’m older, it’s one of my favorite things to do–especially wrapping cookies up and giving them as gifts. (This year has been busy though and I have yet to bake any cookies!) Gingerbread is one of my favorites–I could eat it year round. What is golden syrup though? (I know we call things here differently from where you are 🙂

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Golden syrup doesn’t go by any other name, it is a form of invert sugar that in appearance and texture would look like a light amber coloured treacle or molasses. Taste wise it has a very distinctive flavour – there really isn’t anything else like it. It is not bitter like molasses, some people say you can substitute honey or maple syrup instead of golden syrup, you can but you won’t get the same flavour (not to say the biscuits won’t be nice, just different again). I believe you can buy it in the USA but most likely from specialty stores or stores that sell British products, The British version is called Lyles Golden Syrup.

      Reply
  2. David

    These are so beautiful, Karen – what perfect ornaments for the tree! I love this time of year, mostly because the foods are so good! 🙂 Andrea’s wonderful spice mixture really is incredible! I used it the other day in some cookies, too!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      It’s the perfect time of year for a foodie 🙂 I am loving Andrea’s spice mix – I will be using it a lot in future! I hope you are putting your cookies in the blog – can’t wait to see them!

      Reply
  3. Gather and Graze

    How beautifully you’ve decorated these Karen – just gorgeous – and such a fabulous red! The flavour and spice mix sounds amazing too – do you think this recipe would work well for making a gingerbread house? I make one every year, but am still searching for the perfect biscuit dough…

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I think so Margot, the book I adapted the recipe from also used it for a gingerbread house, my adaptions were pretty minor so I don’t think they would change the structure of the biscuit – I changed the spices and used golden syrup instead of treacle. I am going to try my first ever gingerbread house with it. Btw I may have used more that two teaspoons of the spice mix, I got distracted when I was making them and I couldn’t remember how much I had added so I added a bit more 🙂

      Reply
  4. TheKitchenLioness

    Dear Karen, first up “Thank You” so very much for using the Gingerbread Spice Mix, adding it to your beautiful cookies and then linking back to my blog! I really do appreciate your kind words and your support!
    Then onto your true works of art – these cookies look absolutely stunning. I love the bright red color and the white messages that you wrote on them makes them look even more specialI truly adore with these treats and would certainly not mind gracing my Christmas tree with them!
    Thank you – Merci – Danke!
    Andrea

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Thanks for the lovely comment Andrea. That spice mix was amazing – I wouldn’t have thought to use the coriander or the star anise in the mixture. I will be using this spice mix a lot in the future.

      Reply
      1. TheKitchenLioness

        Karen, you are such a kind person, my dear! That cake that you posted on FB just takes my breath away! I want one exactly like it, please! Seriously, it is so beautiful!
        Hope the business is going well and all the best for now!
        Andrea

        Reply

Leave a Reply

