Irish Soda Rolls

Today I am taking a break from Christmas foods, not for long, but I need to rest up for the next biscuit baking marathon that is about to start. So I am turning my attention to waste, well not waste as in rubbish, but more along the lines of wasting ingredients.  I have had this really bad habit of buying things for a specific recipe and then what’s left gets relegated to the back of the fridge until one day while rummaging around the fridge I will find containers of perishables that are sadly past their use by date. I decided as a sort of pre new year’s resolution that I would start using these ingredients before they started jumping out of the fridge of their own accord. I am after all my mother’s daughter and I have had years of “the starving children in Africa” speech drilled into me so I should in fact know better than to waste perfectly good food.

So today’s recipe is part of this new philosophy and was in fact inspired by some left over buttermilk. As I was looking up the origin of Irish soda bread I was shocked to discover two things: 1. The Irish didn’t invent the “Irish Soda Bread” and 2. The Scots didn’t invent the bagpipes….say it isn’t so!!

Anyway I digress, today’s recipe was an accident, a very happy one I might add. In an attempt to use up the aforementioned buttermilk I decided to make Irish soda rolls, but realised I didn’t quite have enough buttermilk. Rather than make fake buttermilk I chucked in some Greek yoghurt to make up the liquids. Now I have actually made Irish soda bread quite a few times, the recipe I followed was good, but the bread was slightly hearty (read that as dense), but today for the first time they ended up light and fluffy. Greek yoghurt…..I love you!

Recipe

Adapted from BBC Australian Good Food Magazine (no longer in print)

Ingredients

  • 450gm Plain flour
  • 2 teaspoon Bi-carb soda
  • 1 teaspoon Cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • 245ml  Buttermilk
  • 130ml Greek yoghurt

Method:

Preheat oven to 210°C. Line a baking tray with baking paper.

In a large bowl combine the flour, bi-carb soda, cream of tartar and salt. Pour in buttermilk and combine until mixture forms a soft dough. I normally use a knife to just the liquids into the dough and then bring the mixture together with my hands.

Turn onto a lightly floured work surface and knead until fully combined (1-2 minutes).

Either use a rolling pin to roll dough out to a rough rectangle shape or use your hands to press the dough into shape.

Cut into 6 even pieces.

Roll dough into balls and place on a pre prepared baking tray. Use a sharp knife to score the top of each roll in the shape of an X.

Bake for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown and they sound hollow when tapped on the bottom. Immediately place rolls on a wire rack to cool.

20 thoughts on “Irish Soda Rolls

  1. Paula @ Vintage Kitchen Notes

    These look just like the perfect easy rolls to bake while waiting for a braised meal to be ready. I was shocked too about the truth behind the name, lol! And about the waste, it’s inevitable, in my case fresh herbs in particular.

    Reply
  2. anna @ annamayeveryday

    These look so good, I love the melting butter. I am about to make some soda bread to use up some nearly past it buttermilk which I will put in the freezer to have over Christmas. Will certainly try your recipe next time!

    Reply
  3. Tiffany

    I’ve got to try this! I do like good Irish soda bread (I had no idea about the origins either), and have never seen one using Greek yogurt (does that make it Greek soda bread?). But your rolls look so soft and yummy. Can’t wait to make this–after I finally get started on some Christmas baking!

    Reply
  4. Conor Bofin

    Lovely looking soda bread. We may not have invented it but it is a part of my personal heritage. My Mum used to make delicious scones, that look a lot like yours.
    Best,
    Conor

    Reply
      1. Conor Bofin

        Mum bakes without recipe or weighing scales. She brought 6 of us up to adulthood and produced the most amazing baking by adding “just enough” of this or that. A sign of a great cook.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

