Spice Shortbread

Christmas Spiced Shortbread

Ok I admit it, I may have gone a bit overboard with Andrea’s spice mix this Christmas, but seriously can you have too much of something when it just tastes so good? I am on my third, or is it fourth, batch of spice mix now and I keep telling myself it will be the last, but what is Christmas without some shortbread and more to the point – spiced shortbread? 🙂

Christmas Spiced Shortbread

Spice Shortbread

Adapted from Australian Womens weekly “Bake

Makes 2 x 20cm round shortbread.

Ingredients

  • 250gm Unsalted butter, cubed and softened
  • 75gm Caster sugar
  • 35gm Rice flour
  • 335gm Plain flour
  • 3 teaspoons Spice Mix
  • White sugar for dusting shortbread.

Method

Preheat oven to 150°C. Cover two trays with baking paper.

In a mixing bowl of a stand mixer beat butter and caster sugar until light.

Stir in plain flour and rice flour in two batches.

Knead mixture on a lightly floured work surface until smooth.

Divide mixture in half and make each half into a circle. Place on prepared oven tray lined with baking paper. Press out the circle with your hands until it measures 20cm in diameter. Pinch the edges of each round in your fingers to make a pattern around the outside edge.

Lightly score the top of the shortbread with a sharp knife to make eight wedges. Prick the top of the short bread with a fork and then sprinkle the top with white sugar.

Bake @ 150°C for 40-50 minutes.

Christmas Spiced Shortbread

15 thoughts on “Spice Shortbread

  1. Tiffany

    I know I am so very late with this, but hope you had a very merry Christmas and happy New Year! Shortbread is something I’ve been wanting to make for a while. I love that you added spices to yours, sounds so delicious and festive. I miss Christmas already!

    Reply
  2. laurasmess

    I used to be a purist in terms of all-butter Scottish shortbread, but a few years ago, I tried a cinnamon and nutmeg infused variety…. AND it was done. Converted forever! This shortbread round looks incredible. I love me a some good ol’ Women’s Weekly, I used to squirrel my mother’s copies away as a child so that I could pore over the cooking section! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Conor Bofin

    Lovely looking shortbread. I am wondering about the spice. Part of me says “YES! something different!. Part of me says “NO, don’t mess with the classic.”
    Happy Christmas,
    Conor

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I was the same about making changes to such an iconic food, the spice does make for a yummy biscuit but is it still shortbread – probably not. I made sure to try it out on the Scottish contingent of the household for approval first 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and your family.

      Reply
  4. saucygander

    I’m all for spice mixes, bring them on I say! Hope your Christmas preparations are on track and everything is wonderful! I’m kinda relying on the champers to glide over improvisations and glitches. 😛

    Reply
  5. thehungrymum

    oooh, I wasn’t going to make shortbread this Chrissy but I think you may have just changed my mind! Looks so pretty. And isn’t Bake the best? I *love* that book. Hope Santa is kind to you x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

