Butterscotch and Chocolate Cake

Naked Chocolate and Butterscotch Cake

Naked, nude, undressed… now that I have your attention, I am talking about one of the current trends in wedding cakes: the naked cake. It is an extremely versatile style of cake and for those who are not fans of fondant or too much buttercream this is a great alternative. Decorated with fresh flowers or fruit, filled with varieties of light citrus or berry flavoured buttercreams these cakes make a great visual impact and are perfect for a summer wedding. Now while these cakes are taking the wedding market by storm, naked cakes have been around for years and have graced the pages of many blogs and recipe books.

We are in the middle of summer in Australia and temperatures are soaring into the beyond uncomfortable stage. You would think that I would have some type of fruity summery cake for you, but my thoughts had veered into the caramely and chocolate flavours more suited to a cold winter’s evening sitting next to a crackling fire.

So without further ado I present my butterscotch cake layered with chocolate Italian buttercream and decorated with crunchy caramel coated hazelnuts.

If you want to follow me I am now on Facebook where I am posting my blog and lots of other cake creations that don’t feature on the blog.

Recipe

Butterscotch and Chocolate Cake

Note: This cake mixture is actually for a 9″ cake but I have baked in an 8″ pan to get the extra height needed to get three layers. The cooking time on this needed to be extended to compensate.

Ingredients

  • 270gm butter
  • 250gm water
  • 40ml vegetable oil
  • 40ml condensed milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 520gm caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 355gm self raising flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 40ml Butterscotch Schnapps.

Method

Pre heat oven to 160°C. Spray an 8” pan with oil and line the bottom and sides with baking paper. Use double or triple thickness paper on the sides to prevent the sides from over baking while the centre bakes.

In a medium saucepan bring the butter and water to the boil, remove from heat.

In the mixing bowl of a stand mixer whisk together the oil, condensed milk and vanilla.

Change to the mixer attachment and add the sugar, flour, baking powder and the butter mixture. Beat until well combined.

Add eggs one at a time and mix to combine.

Add butterscotch schnapps.

Bake @ 160°C for approx. 2 hours or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted into cake.

Once baked remove the cake from the oven and leave to sit for 10 – 15 minutes to cool before removing from cake pan. Turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Buttercream

Make one portion of Italian buttercream with the following changes.
Melt 150gm dark chocolate (I used 70%), allow to cool. Follow the Italian buttercream recipe and at the very end add the cooled chocolate into the finished buttercream and whisk to combine completely. Refrigerate to firm slightly.

Assembly

Split the cake into three even layers.

Place the first layer onto a cake plate or tray and spread with a thick even layer of buttercream.

Place the next cake layer on top and spread with the same thickness of buttercream.

Place the final layer of cake on top of buttercream and spread another thick layer of buttercream.

Use a metal scraper to scrape the buttercream flat around the side of the cake, fill any holes and scrape again.

Decorate the top. I have coated hazelnuts with caramel which I will show you how to make in a later post.

Butterscotch and Chocolate Cake

24 thoughts on “Butterscotch and Chocolate Cake

  1. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, this cake is absolutely stunning. The flavors, the layers, the fillings and, of course, the candied hazelnuts sound sooo delicious and look so elegant. I most definitely prefer cakes without the fondant layer, no doubt about it. I would love to have a slice of your cake with a nice cup of tea this afternoon. That would be just perfect.
    Sorry for being so late with my comments, but I only arrived home last week and I am still a little slow at writing etc. and working on getting my strength back.
    Have a wonderful (and creative) week!
    Andrea

    Reply
  2. Tiffany | baking at tiffanys

    Wow what a beautiful cake! I would love to have something like this for a wedding 🙂 And chocolate is still great in warm weather. Though citrus and berries are also delicious. I didn’t know there was a name for a cake like this, but yours doesn’t look very “naked” to me–it’s so nicely decorated!

    Reply
  3. David

    Stunning, as always, Karen! The caramel-coated hazelnuts are a feat unto themselves! I haven’t heard of the naked wedding cakes yet – but it seems like a much better idea, and they are actually more visually interesting!

    Reply
  4. Gather and Graze

    Such a stunning cake Karen! I can only imagine how delicious it tasted… Love how you’ve done the caramel hazelnuts on top – look forward to seeing the post on how to make these too.

    Reply
  5. beverlyswin

    I am not an experienced cake baker, but I am wondering how in the world you slice 1 8″ cake layer into 3 pieces??
    This cake is exquisite!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      The height of the cake once it is baked is just over 6 cm. To get the layers you take the cake height and divide it by the layers you want – I wanted 3 layers for this cake so I made each layer just over 2cm in height. I use a cake saw/leveller to cut the layers as you can adjust the wire cutter to the height you want and it ensures a nice even layer all the way through as you cut. You can use a serrated knife but I find that I tend to cut on an angle so my layers don’t always come out even if I use a knife. You can purchase cake saws/levellers from most cake decorating stores. Hope that helps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

