Passionfruit Cake

Passionfruit Cake

I have been up to my ears making cake, so much so that I have neglected my blog and have lots of reading to catch on from my favourite bloggers. So what do I do when I finally get a break and come up for breath? Yes you guessed it, make more cake!

I was seduced by this cake, there was something about it that just appealed to me, maybe it was it’s eye catching colours or the flavour of passionfruit, whatever it was I simply had to make this cake.

I first saw it, in Feast magazine, it was bright, pretty and cheerful looking – what was not to love? The outside was covered with a cream cheese frosting in an eye catching yellow ombre effect and the inside was all passionfruity goodness. I book marked the page and put it on my list of cakes to make.

So what’s to love about this cake?  Well the cake itself has a great texture and good flavour.

What’s not to love? For me I am not a huge fan of seeds in cakes and the passionfruit seeds had a potential trip to the dentist to fix a broken tooth all over them. The other thing I didn’t enjoy was the cream cheese frosting, there was just too much of it and even the sharpness of the extra passionfruit on top or the lemon juice I added to the frosting wasn’t enough to cut through.

If I was making this cake again I would change the frosting to either a lemon curd Italian buttercream or if you really want a passionfruit hit change the lemon curd to passionfruit curd.

On another subject, for anyone that is following the adventures of Hamish you will be pleased to know that he is doing well and due to make his first loaf of sour dough shortly…

Passionfruit Cake

Recipe

Passionfruit Cake

Featured in October 2013 issue of Feast Magazine

  • 200gm unsalted butter, softened
  • 295gm caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 240gm sour cream
  • pulp from 6 passionfruit
  • 350gm self raising flour.

Cream cheese frosting

  • 100gm unsalted butter
  • 320gm pure icing sugar, sifted
  • 3 x 250gm packets cream cheese, softened
  • Yellow food colouring (I use gel rather than liquid colour).

Method

Preheat oven to 160°C. Spray 2 x 8″ cake pans with oil and line the base and sides with baking paper.

In the bowl of a stand mixer beat butter and sugar until pale and creamy.

Add eggs one at a time and beat well between additions.

Add sour cream and passionfruit pulp and mix until combined.

Remove bowl from mixer and fold through the flour with a spatula.

Divide mixture evenly between the two cake tins. Bake at 160°C for approx. 45minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean.

Remove from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes. Remove from cake tins and allow to cool completely.

To make the frosting, beat the butter and icing sugar together until pale and creamy. Add cream cheese and beat until smooth and creamy.

To make the ombre effect on the icing take 1 third of the frosting and split it into two bowls. Colour one half a dark yellow colour and the second half a lighter shade of yellow. Set the remaining frosting aside for later use.

Spread the darkest shade in a line around the bottom side of the cake. Don’t worry about being neat or smooth.

Then spread the lighter shade in a line right above the first dark yellow line of frosting.

Spread the remaining frosting up the sides and on the top of the cake.

Take a straight edged metal scraper and line it up on the side of cake, pull the scraper around the cake smoothing the frosting as you work your way around the cake.

I wanted the cake to be a little rustic looking so I didn’t smooth the top of the cake. Spread passionfruit pulp over the top of cake.

Passionfruit Cake

24 thoughts on “Passionfruit Cake

  1. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, this is quite a showstopper of a cake – I have never made a cake with passion fruit – it sounds delicious and the layers are amazing, so is the ombre frosting on the side of the cake – seeds or no seeds, I definitely love the elegance of this cake and I would really enjoy having a big slice!
    I love my visits here – you are such a wonderfully talented baker – sounds like you are very busy baking cakes, great news for your business!
    Take care of yourself!

    Reply
  2. David

    This is a beautiful work of art, Karen – the ombre shading in the icing is truly stunning. But, when I saw the seeds, I though, ‘That would be like having bones in my cake.” Glad you agree! I might sieve out the seeds to make it – do you think I would need the pulp of a 7th to make this work? Not loving cream cheese icings for the same reason you cite, I would follow your advice with the buttercream, although I have been working on a combo of buttercream and cream cheese to lighten the cheese icing. That might work. So nice to see you back online, and so good to hear Hamish is doing well!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I kind of knew when I left the seeds in the cake that I wouldn’t like that aspect – I would have sieved them but I only have a really fine sieve so I thought I would have a bit of trouble getting the pulp through 🙂 You could probably get away with six passionfruit but have a spare one handy just in case you need it.
      I like the idea of the buttercream / cream cheese combo – let me know when you have perfected it I would love to give it a go!

      Reply
      1. saucygander

        Have you seen the mango meringue cake from Black Star Pastry? It was featured on the cover of Delicious magazine a couple of years ago. Hideously complicated, but it’s stuck in my mind ever since…

        Reply
  3. Lisa

    This looks SO good! Any curd of any kind gets me. So much concentrated flavor. Yours is absolutely beautiful and the gradient you did with the icing is so pretty!

    Reply
  4. Gather and Graze

    This really is a beautiful looking cake Karen! So very pretty the shades of icing on the sides. Almost a tragedy that you didn’t completely enjoy the taste… though important to be up front about these things and then devise ways of improving on the recipe for next time. Very admirable!
    Coincidentally I’ve been on a passionfruit spree myself this week. I found them on sale 6 for $1, so I stocked up and have been busy making, first of all, a coconut/passionfruit ice-cream (which was lovely in flavour, yet somehow went a little frosty rather than creamy 😦 so won’t be blogging that one just yet…) and then my recent lemon & coconut slice just got passionfruitised this morning, but too sweet without the lemon to cut through, so once again a no go for the blog… Frustrating, but thought it was worth a try.
    Lovely to hear that you’ve been keeping very busy making cakes! Great news for The Lemon Grove Cake Company! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

