Cherry and chocolate chip cookies and a lemon stealing wallaby

Cherry and Chocolate Chip Cookies

A family of wallabies has moved into the Lemon Grove garden. At first they stayed way down the back of the section closest to the reserve. Gradually they have made their way closer and closer to the house until just yesterday when I caught one with his greedy paws on my lemon tree. He spotted me just as he plucked the best looking lemon off the tree. So there he is frozen in place staring at me while holding onto his stolen bounty for dear life, then he hopped off at an incredible speed before leaping over the back fence and into safety. It was a surprise to me as while I knew wallabies were herbivores I didn’t know they ate lemons! My lemon stealing wallabies never quite come close enough for a photo opportunity so you will just have to make do with these shots of today’s blog offering: cherry and chocolate chip cookies.

Cherry and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe

Makes 14

Ingredients

  • 125gm unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 85gm caster sugar
  • 85gm light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 165gm plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 100gm chocolate chips
  • 70gm dried cherries.

Method

Heat oven to 180°C. Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Place the butter, vanilla extract, caster sugar, brown sugar and egg in the bowl of a stand mixer. Mix until fully combined.

Remove the bowl from mixer and add in the flour and baking soda in two batches. Mix with a spatula to combine.

Add the chocolate chips and dried cherries and mix in using a spatula.

Scoop heaped tablespoons of the mixture into balls and place on pre-prepared baking tray, allow at least 3-4cm for the cookies to spread.

Bake at 180°C for approx. 12 minutes. Cool on baking tray to allow cookies to firm before moving from the tray.

Cherry and Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Cherry and chocolate chip cookies and a lemon stealing wallaby

  1. Margot @ Gather and Graze

    Wow, I hadn’t realised they ate fruit either Karen! Our potted lemons needed to be possum-proofed for a while, but then… possums are well-known for their fruit-eating ability.
    I love the sound of adding dried cherries to these cookies – delicious! Hope you’re having a great weekend. We’ve just had a few lovely days up in Sydney… sooo much warmer than Canberra! 🙂

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      We also have the bats to contend with as well – the wild life in Australia is crazy. Stay tuned in next week for my very funny possum story – honestly you couldn’t make this stuff up 🙂 Glad you enjoyed your time in Sydney, it is freezing in QLD today!

      Reply
  2. David

    The cookies sound great! … I remember petting a baby wallaby at the Philadelphia Zoo on my 5th birthday. It was such a treat. In fact, it is the ONLY animal I remember from that day. Funny, eh? I hope he makes good use of your lemon. A lemon slice would be nice…

    Reply
  3. cheri

    Hi Karen, had to google what a wallaby was and oh my goodness, they are so adorable, not sure if they are pesky around the house or anything, but they sure are cute. Anyway, love chocolate and cherries together, great combination, lovely cookie.

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      I would love to get some photos but I don’t like my chances they move pretty fast when they spot humans. Racoons look really cute in the pictures I have seen, I am sure they are not so cute when they are stealing all your fruit 🙂 Have a great week Mimi

      Reply

Leave a Reply

