Raspberry Swirl and White Chocolate Ice Cream

Raspberry Swirl and White Chocolate Ice Cream

Last week it was lemon stealing wallabies, this week it is dog riding possums. What the??? So here goes: “Once upon a time in a land down under”…. no seriously this is a true story!! Well it all happened at the magic hour of midnight. Mr LG had let the dog out for a last bit of doggie business, it was the middle of winter and so he was wearing his coat which funnily enough resembles a horse blanketย (the dog that is not Mr LG :)).

When the dog hadn’t returned after 15 minutes Mr LG went outside to find out where he was. No one was more surprised than me to hear Mr LG call out that there was a possum on the dog’s back. Of course Mr LG hasn’t always let the truth get in the way of a good story so I thought he was pulling my leg. A few seconds later Mr LG dashes in the back door and grabs the torch because, yes, there was indeed a possum hitching a ride on the dog’s back looking not unlike a little miniature jockey.

Mr LG has become quite adept at wrangling wildlife since we moved to Australia so our wee visitor was more than happy to move on after having a torch shone in his eyes. So what did the dog think of all this carry on… not much apparently he didn’t seem overly fazed by his unexpected jockey and in fact was quite happy to follow him off into the woods. This of course meant Mr LG then had to go down the back into the spooky dark to wrangle the dog who chooses to forget his name whenever it suits.

Dogs, possums and cold winter nights aside I ask the age old blogger question – is it ever too cold to eat ice cream? Of course the answer is a resounding NOOOOOOO. And so I present to you this absolutely decadent raspberry swirl and white chocolate ice cream.

 

Raspberry Swirl and White Chocolate Ice Cream

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 quantity of this vanilla ice cream
  • 250gm frozen raspberries
  • 62.5gms sugar
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 120gm white chocolate, chopped coarsely.

Method

Make vanilla ice cream as per instructions here up until it is ready to churn. Refrigerate.

Make raspberry puree by placing raspberries, sugar and lemon juice in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring to avoid the berries catching. Once the raspberries have released their juice simmer for 5 minutes. Put the berries through a sieve over a bowl to remove the seeds. Set aside for later use.

Bring a saucepan of water to the boil over a high heat. Remove from heat. Place chopped chocolate in a heat proof bowl over the hot water until the chocolate is melted and smooth.

Start churning the ice cream mix in ice cream machine as per manufacturers’ instructions. When the ice cream is half churned place the melted chocolate in a zip lock plastic bag, cut a small corner off the end of the bag. Hold the bag over the ice cream machine and allow the melted chocolate to drizzle into the ice cream. The chocolate will harden on impact with the cold ice cream and leave chocolate shards through out the ice cream.

Once the ice cream has finished churning scoop into a plastic container. Pour small amounts of the raspberry puree over the top of ice cream. Use a knife and mix to create a swirl pattern. Place ice cream in the freezer to harden.

 

Raspberry Swirl and White Chocolate Ice Cream

 

15 thoughts on “Raspberry Swirl and White Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. freestyle3

    I love the story of the possum jockey and believe it absolutely.

    Not sure how I got to your blog but here I am! I love the idea of this ice cream but the only time I tried something similar the fruit became icy which rather spoilt the creamy texture of the white choccie ice cream (imho). Does this happen to you? and if so, do you care? and if you do care, what can be done to avoid it? Please.

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Hi there, thanks for stopping by. Yes I do care about icy fruit in ice cream ๐Ÿ™‚ I only use a fruit puree in my ice cream not whole fruit and I use a sugar content/ratio of 25gm sugar to 100gm fruit when making the puree. So far I haven’t had a problem with the puree becoming icy probably due to the sugar content. As a complete disclosure when I make ice cream I usually only make a small quantity so it only lasts maybe 2 days at the most, which doesn’t give it a lot of time to become icy. I have heard of people adding vodka or kirsh to their puree as they don’t freeze due to the high alcohol content. Hope that helps..

      Reply
  2. kandee2013

    Pffft … Dog riding Possums ??? Lemon swiping Wallaby’s ?? You tell a VERY good tale yourself Ms. LGCD ๐Ÿ™‚ … oh and … the ice cream ??? Where did I put my ice cream maker … Honey ?????

    Reply
  3. TheKitchenLioness

    Karen, homemade ice cream with vanilla, raspberries and white chocolate – elegant and decadent and wonderful! A fabulous recipe for any time of the year or weather! Or any time of the day – I have not had breakfast yet and I feel like some ice cream with raspberries now!
    Wonderfully written post and great pictures too, dear friend! Hope your business is a smashing success – from the amazing pictures that you are posting on FB, I assume that you are doing rather well! I am in awe of all your creative work! And instead of baking my own birthday cake next week, I would rather order one from you – “coffee theme”, please!
    Liebe Grรผsse,
    Andrea

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Thanks Andrea what a lovely comment. It has been an interesting journey starting my own business. It was slow to start with but now I am getting more orders as people get to know about me. I would love to make you a cake, it is such a shame you are so far away my friend. It is my husbands birthday in August too and I am in the middle of designing his cake ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. David

    It sounds like an adventure from Wind in the Willows! (The possum and the dog, not the ice cream…) The ice cream sounds just like something I want to make this weekend in our 40ยฐC heat! Gorgeous photos!

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Wind in the Willows… I like that it sounds very whimsical, now every time the dog goes outside I will be imagining he is having all these adventures with his little wildlife mates ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. Margot @ Gather and Graze

    You don’t need to twist my arm Karen – this dessert I’d eat any time of year! Raspberry/White chocolate is one of my all-time favourite combinations – SO delicious!
    Unbelievable how brazen these possums can be! Case of mistaken identity perhaps? Does your dog look anything like a Mummy possum??? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. cheri

    Hi Karen, no it is never to cold, oddly enough I eat more ice cream in the winter than the summer. Great story about the possum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

