Ginger Slice

Ginger has widely been used for its healing properties for thousands of years. Originating in Southern Asia it eventually spread through the rest of Asia, West Africa and the Caribbean. In the middle ages ginger made its way to Europe via the spice trade where it was commonly used to make sweets.

Ginger is now grown in many places all over the world including Australia. I came across some interesting “Did you know” facts while looking at the Buderim Ginger, Australian website.

For example, did you know:

  • Henry VIII praised ginger’s goodness as a cure for the plague.

and

  • During the Middle Ages, ginger was valued on par with black pepper. A pound of either was worth the price of one sheep.

and

  • Ginger was the first crop planted in the Americas after Columbus.

I can’t honestly say this ginger slice contains all the health benefits attributed to ginger, but it sure is tasty!

Ginger Slice

By Donna Hay Magazine.

Ingredients

  • 375gm plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 220gm caster sugar
  • 250gm cold butter, chopped.

Ginger Icing

  • 150gm butter, chopped
  • 90gm golden syrup
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons ground ginger
  • 240gm icing sugar, sifted.

Method

Preheat oven to 180°C. Spray a 20cm x 30cm tin with oil and line with baking paper.

Place the flour, baking powder, ginger, sugar into a bowl and stir to combine. Pour into food processer.

Add butter and process until mixture looks like fine bread crumbs.

Pour mixture into prepared tin and press mixture into tin until compact.

Bake for 35-40 mins or until golden brown and firm to touch.

Remove from heat and set aside while you make icing.

Place butter, golden syrup and ginger into a saucepan over a medium heat and cook for 2-3 minutes or until butter has melted.

Add the icing sugar and whisk to combine.

Pour icing over the base and refrigerate for at least an hour or until set.

Remove from tin and cut into slices.

21 thoughts on “Ginger Slice

  1. thekitchenlioness

    Dear Karen, I am also a real ginger lover and we all appreciate the healing powers of ginger. But I have never seen ginger slices before – I know I will love these and you did an absolutely perfect job with cutting and presenting them, just fabulous – I shall make sure to use a ruler and a chefs kife when I cut them – as I am not good at eyeballing these things.
    Thanks for a wonderful recipe inspiration and have a lovely weekend,
    Andrea

    Reply
  2. David

    Karen – this is just perfect for ginger lovers! I can’t wait to try it. Your presentation is always so beautiful – I would love to come there and study with you for a week! How do you get your slices so perfect?

    Reply
    1. lemongrovecakediaries Post author

      Thanks David 🙂 I would like to say it was some kind of exciting trade secret but alas it’s not. If it’s possible I make sure whatever I am cutting has been in the fridge to firm up then use a large sharp cooks knife and a ruler to measure the slices evenly. A lot of people do it by eye but I have discovered that I can’t cut straight to save my life hence the trusty ruler 🙂

      Reply
  3. chef mimi

    I don’t usually click on sweets, but these look and sound fabulous!! I was expecting crystallized ginger, but fresh ginger in the cake and icing must be incredible!!! Gorgeous!

    Reply
  4. laurasmess

    These look so delicious Karen, my husband adores anything ginger so I’m pretty sure he’d request these if he saw this page open (though I’m at work at the moment, haha…). Funny that you mention the healing properties etc. My mum always swears that ginger helps an upset stomach. I do love drinking ginger tea, whether it’s a cure-all or not! Lovely recipe

    Reply
      1. laurasmess

        Oh really? How awesome! I’ve been reading about the nutritional and healing properties of turmeric recently too. Pretty incredible for two little root spices 😊

        Reply

Leave a Reply

